Lemon Meringue Cookie Cups

9 Aug

image(2)

I’ve never been one to get excited about lemon desserts.  If I have a choice, I’ll always go for something chocolate.  So when my favorite CrossFit instructor requested a lemon meringue dessert, I wasn’t sure where to begin.  However, I was up for the challenge as these types of requests help me get out of my comfort zone and experiment with something new.  Sometimes its hard for me to decide what to bake. Most of the time I just want to stick with old favorites and desserts that I know will be a success.

image

The only lemon meringue dessert I’d ever heard of was pie, but I didn’t exactly want to bring a whole pie into the gym. I wanted something a bit more portable and easier to eat.  Luckily I found this awesome recipe for Lemon Meringue Cookie Cups – exactly what I was looking for.

I mostly followed the recipe, except instead of store bought sugar cookie dough, I used the recipe from my owl cookies and for the lemon curd I used Joy the Baker’s recipe for Meyer Lemon Curd (found in her cookbook as well)!

image(1)

These lemon meringue cookie cups were a huge hit. My CrossFit instructor as well as my co-workers definitely enjoyed them. And I must admit I found myself sneaking bites of them straight from the fridge.  I encourage you to make them as well.  They are pretty simple to put together and are just so dang cute.

P.S. I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I’ve posted!! I haven’t been baking much with the hot weather and with trips to Portland and San Diego, but I hope to be posting more frequently from here on out :)

One Response to “Lemon Meringue Cookie Cups”

  1. Kevin August 9, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Yes, you have been slacking in the posting category. They look wonderful

Leave a Reply

savory/sweet/style

a blog dedicated to a sweet, savory, and stylish lifestyle.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

