Apple Pie Cookies

IMG_2455

I spent an enjoyable afternoon in my kitchen baking up these cute apple pie cookies.  I got the idea from one of my crossfit instructors via this recipe. As I’ve said before, I actually appreciate getting recipe requests from others as it takes me out of my comfort zone and forces me to try new things. Otherwise I’d just make batch after batch of cookies! Plus, I have been wanting to try a lattice top pie for a while and figured this was the perfect opportunity.

I decided to make the pie dough and apple filling from scratch (instead of store bought) which made the process a bit more labor intensive and time consuming. However, I really enjoyed the many hours it took to create these babies. I think it was mostly due to the challenge of baking something new as well as the the fact that I was baking for others. It was fun putting these pie cookies together knowing that my friends and family would be enjoying them soon. Also, I really do just love baking!

Since I’m not a big pie fan, I didn’t even sample the final product, but I heard they were delicious! :) So if you have a free afternoon and are looking for a baking challenge, I recommend giving these apple pie cookies a try.

IMG_2458

Here is the breakdown of the recipe:

Pie Dough

adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients:
- 4 cups all-purpose flour
- 3 tbls sugar
- 1 scant tsp salt
- 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
- 3/4 shortening
- 1/2 cup ice water
- 1 egg

Directions: In a large mixing bowl, combine all-purpose flour, shortening, sugar, and salt. Blend together with a pastry cutter until crumbly. In a separate bowl, mix egg with water. Blend into flour mixture. Chill in refrigerator until ready to use.

I’ve used this pie dough recipe many times before, usually opting for all shortening.  However I decided to use part butter this time around to enhance the flavor.

Apple Filling

copied from smittenkitchen

IMG_2465

Ingredients:
- 4 granny smith apples
- 2 McIntosh apples
- 1 tbls lemon juice
- 1 tsp lemon zest
- 3/4 sugar
- 2 tbls all-purpose flour
- 1/4 tsp salt
- 1 tsp cinnamon
- 1/4 tsp nutmeg
- 1/4 tsp allspice

Directions: Peel, core and cut apples into 1/4 cubes.  Toss with lemon juice and zest. In a separate bowl, mix sugar, flour, salt and spices. Mix dry ingredients with apple mixture. Set aside.

Putting it all together:

IMG_2463

Ingredients:

1 cup caramel sauce
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 egg

Directions:

1. Roll out half of the pie dough.
2. Spread a thin layer of caramel sauce over the dough
3. Top the caramel layer with your apple pie filling
4. Roll out the second half of the dough the same size and shape as your first half and cut into thin strips
5. Create a lattice on top of apple pie filling with the dough strips (I used the tutorial found here)
6. Using a biscuit cutter, cut out pie cookies
7. Place cookies on a parchment lined baking sheet, brush the tops with egg wash and then sprinkle with cinnamon sugar
8. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking.

I’m happy to report the lattice top was much easier than I thought it would be and the cookies stayed together much better than I thought they would.  I was partly expecting the filling bust out of the pie dough once they went in the oven but luckily everything stayed in tact.  I do want to make these again someday as I think they make great little gifts, but I think I’ll wait for a nice rainy day when I don’t feel like going outside anyway…

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Cookies

  1. Hi Kelly! You won my giveaway – a copy of the Cook’s Illustrated Baking Book! Can you email me your address? thevanillabeanblog(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Pingback: Old Favorites | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

