Hello!

Welcome to KellyBaked!  This is my first official post and I couldn’t be more excited.  I am starting this venture to practice and perfect my baking skills in hopes to own a bakery one day.  To find out more about me, check out the about page.  Let’s get to the goods, my first recipe for the blog:

S’more Cookies!

Now, you have all probably been bombarded with s’more recipes lately. But I was attending my first BBQ of the summer and just couldn’t resist.  I’ve been wanting to make these cookies for a while now and am so glad I did, they were a huge hit!  Even with 2 other types of cookies at the BBQ, these babies disappeared fast (and first).  Did I mention I’m a bit competitive? 🙂

I followed this recipe. The only change I made was using 4 hershey bars instead of 3.5 (really 3.5? why not throw it all in there? or else it would just end up in my belly!).  I also broke the individual squares in half so that I could spread the chocolate out between the cookies.  I was a little skeptical about the 4 min bake + 2 min broil method.  6 min to bake cookies? Yep, that’s all it takes.

(I had to show you my lovely candy apple red kitchen aid in the first post, I think I need a nickname for her, any suggestions?)

Baker’s Tip: don’t leave the kitchen while baking, actually don’t move more than 2 feet from your stove!  I made this mistake and had some extra toasty mallows!  Luckily I know some folks who purposely light their marshmallows on fire for their s’mores, so I knew I’d have some happy eaters either way.

Another thing I found helpful with this recipe was placing the dough in the fridge while baking the batches.  This keeps the butter cold so that the cookies don’t spread too quickly.  The cookies did come out pretty flat so maybe next time I’ll chill the dough for about an hour before baking.

Overall I think they came out great.  I loved the graham cracker flavor and the chunks of chocolate.  Next time, I would like to try mixing the marshmallows in the batter  and skipping the broiling step.  I’ll let you know how that goes!

5 thoughts on “Hello!

  1. Wow, yum. I am so excited to be your first replyer! Do I win something? JK Congrats on starting a new blog. I will follow you as soon as I figure out how. Those cookies look amazing. How about Big Red for your Kitchenaid? Happy blogging!!!

  2. Your post motivated me to bust my buns in the kitchen yesterday! Me and my boys were glad I did, these are SO good. I had also made rice krispie treats, and we topped a few of ’em with these cookies…awesomeness. Happy blogging.

  3. Pingback: S’more Cookies – Take Two | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

