Bribe them with cookies

For the past 2 weeks, I’ve been playing on a softball team with my good friend Jenny.  I’m not officially on the team but am hoping to make their roster next season.  So far I’ve basically stood in right field and after four at bats have only made it to first base on a walk.  What does this have to do with baking?  Since I’m no stud on the field, I figured my best bet for scoring a spot on the team was to bribe them with cookies.  So I showed up for our last game of the season with a freshly baked batch of Oatmeal Scotchies, one of my all time favorite cookies.

The recipe can be found on the back of Nestle Toll House Butterscotch Morsels (best eaten straight from the bag),  but I’ll kindly type it up for those of you who buy generic butterscotch chips.  However, having tried many different types I do suggest Nestle, as they are the best tasting. I’ve been known to polish off a bag without baking a thing with them! (Ok, maybe I’m the only one that knows that, but just sayin’ – they’re addicting)

I already knew the scotchies would be a hit with Jenny since she requested them, and am pleased to say they were well received by the rest of the team and our handful of fans.  You could say that I hit a home run, but we won’t really know until the roster for next season is posted. In the meantime, make them for yourself and let me know what you think.

Oatmeal Scotchies

Ingredients:

1 & 1/4 cups all-purpose flour*

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 cup (2 sticks) butter*

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups quick or old fashioned oats

1 & 2/3 cups (1 bag) butterscotch chips

*You can replace all or half of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour for a nutritional boost.  And if you’re looking to make these with less fat you can substitute half of the butter with 1/4 cup prune puree or applesauce.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. Combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a small bowl.

3. Beat butter, sugars, eggs and vanilla extract in larger mixing bowl.

4. Gradually beat in flour mixture.

5. Stir in oats and butterscotch chips.

6. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto baking sheet and bake for 7-9 min.

7. Cool on baking sheets for 5 min before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Since I’ve made these cookies before, I decided to experiment with baking sheets.  I’ve baked cookies using a pizza stone as well as baking sheets + silpat and wanted to see which resulted in a better cookie. The winner… old fashioned baking sheets!  The cookies that were baked on the pizza stone got a little too crispy on the edges. Also, you have to be careful to not over bake cookies with a pizza stone as they continue to bake once you remove them from the oven. The cookies from the baking sheets and silpat were perfectly baked and were much easier to remove from the sheet.  If you don’t have a silpat I suggest using parchment paper as it has the same effect and is a breeze to clean up.

I have so much confidence in these cookies (and my one RBI didn’t hurt either)  I think I’ll be hitting up the batting cages soon! I hope you like them as much as my team and I did.

Leave a Reply

