Healthify your Bundts!

What exactly makes a recipe “healthier”? In my opinion, one with less fat, less sugar and better-for-you ingredients (such as whole wheat flour instead of white).  The cake I made this week matches all of these criteria. I found the recipe from my favorite blog and baker, Joy the Baker. Joy’s recipes are delicious and never seem to disappoint. Her writing is witty, entertaining and makes you feel as if you two are best buds. I was fortunate enough to meet her this year at a book signing for her very first cookbook.

Even though Joy the Baker is an inspiration to me, she isn’t someone I usually turn to when looking for a healthy recipe as she isn’t shy about her love of butter and sugar. Lucky for me, she does slip in a healthy recipe every now and then. This White Bean Bundt Cake being a perfect example.

Yeah, you read that right, there are beans in the cake. I know it sounds strange but you really can’t taste them at all.  And as Joy states, the beans “allow us to cut down on the butter while adding moisture, structure and protein.” Sounds good to me!

This recipe made 1 small bundt cake and 12 cupcakes. I followed Joy’s recipe except for the following substitutions:

– 1/2 cake flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour for the all-purpose

– 1 tbsp lemon juice + 1 cup of almond milk for the buttermilk

– made a different frosting (see below)

For the frosting, I used a recipe I found on Pinterest. It is very simple and very light. All you have to do is: Add 1 cup of almond milk (or any milk you prefer) to a packet of sugar-free pudding (I used cheesecake flavor) and mix until it begins to thicken. Then add a container of light cool whip and stir to combine.

Although I thought the cake and the frosting were both delicious, I think I would prefer a simple glaze for this type of cake and plan on trying that next time.  The frosting would go great with a lighter, moister cake (or just eaten with a spoon!). Also, the cake was a little denser than I would like but this might be due to the fact that I stored it in the fridge because of the frosting. Overall, I was pretty happy with the way the cake turned out and hope that the people I shared it with enjoyed it as well. I know that at least their waistlines will be happy 🙂

* Also wanted to let you know I added a Substitutions page to my blog so that you can start healthify-ing your recipes too!

One thought on “Healthify your Bundts!

  1. Pingback: Kel-Beany Brownie Bites | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

