Kel’s Crunchy Peanut Butter Cups

Before we get into anything baking related I just have to share a picture of my adorable new nephew, Kaleo Dylan.  I was lucky enough to spend most of my weekend with this little guy and couldn’t be happier for my sis and her hubby.  They are now a perfect family of four. Congratulations again you two, you make the best looking babies around!

Now on to the goodies.  After heating up my house last weekend with zucchini bread and more brownie bombs, I thought a no-bake recipe would be perfect this weekend. I’ve been eying a couple of peanut butter cup recipes for a while and finally decided to dive in and make some. I wasn’t completely excited about any recipe I’ve come across so far, so I came up with my own version, stealing the best ideas from a couple of recipes.

Kel’s Crunchy Peanut Butter Cups

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup milk chocolate chips or a chopped up hershey bar

1 tsp coconut oil

2/3 cup peanut butter (crunchy or smooth)

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1/4 crushed graham crackers

1/4 tsp salt (if pb is not already salted)

Directions:

  1. Line a mini muffin pan.
  2. In a microwave safe bowl [or using a double boiler on the stove], microwave the chocolate in 30 sec increments, stirring after each 30 seconds, until smooth. Stir in coconut oil.
  3. Spoon about 1 tsp into the bottom of each cup and spread chocolate up the sides and smooth out the bottom. Place the mini baking sheet in the freezer for about 15 minutes to set.
  4. While chocolate is freezing, stir together the peanut butter, powdered sugar, graham cracker crumbs and salt in a bowl.
  5. When chocolate is set, remove from freezer. Add 1 tsp of the peanut butter mixture to each mini cup, keeping it centered.
  6. Top each cup with about 1 tsp of melted chocolate and spread evenly to seal the cup closed.  Place baking sheet back in freezer for 15 minutes.
  7. Store pb cups in the fridge or freezer in a sealed container.

I think these cups are pretty darn delicious.  The chocolate to peanut butter ratio is a little higher than Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, so if you like more peanut butter in your cups you might want to add more. I added the graham crackers crumbs for some crunch and was happy to have them in there. Next time I think I’ll use crunchy peanut butter too.  If you don’t have graham cracker, I think rice crispies or another cereal would work just as good.

I’ve been storing these in the freezer and they’ve been a nice, refreshing and cool dessert. I’m sending some to the new parents to enjoy and can’t wait for the day I can share my treats with Kaleo. Knowing how much his parents and big brother love all things sweet, I’m sure he’ll enjoy them one day too!

3 thoughts on “Kel’s Crunchy Peanut Butter Cups

  1. Mel those look delicious! I can’t wait to try them! Congrats to your sister and her hubby! He is soo cute!

  2. These are delicious and such a perfect treat! Just like last time, this week home from the hospital I’ve been scouring our kitchen for chocolate;) lucky me, Awesome Aunt Kelly snuck some into our freezer. Thanks Kel, you’re the best. FYI, I agree about the crunchy p.b. and rice cereal sounds good.

Leave a Reply

