Class and Cookies

My first day at baking class was awesome. I had so much fun donning a chefs jacket and working in a professional kitchen. The first class was on basic baking and I’m proud to say I already knew a lot of the techniques taught. I think this is due to the fact that we were working on a lot of things I’ve been baking for a while now. I did of course learn some new tricks and tips and  am looking forward to the upcoming classes where the real knowledge will be gained (like souffles – something I’ve never even contemplated in the kitchen). Here’s a snapshot of all our hard work:

My favorite recipes we made were the Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookie Bars and the Toasted Pecan Butter Cookies.  Next week we’ll be learning all about yeast breads and enjoying some pizza (with our homemade pizza dough) in the process! In the meantime, I have some homework to do.

Moving on to today’s recipe, Chocolate Chip Hazelnut Meringue Kisses. This recipe actually comes from my newest baking cookbook, Chewy Gooey Crispy Crunchy Melt-in-Your-Mouth Cookies by Alice Medrich. I’ve only made 2 things out of the book so far and have enjoyed both of them. The other recipe I made was the cookies shown on the cover. They just looked too good to pass up!

My mom actually bought me this book based on the picture of these meringues alone (the one in the book, not mine above). So I thought they’d be a great addition to her birthday present. Although she claims she’s not a fan of hazelnuts, she loved them. This was my first time making meringues and I was pleased with how easy and tasty they were.  Although they are not difficult to make they are a little time intensive. The bake time is over 1 and 1/2 hours and the hazelnuts have to be toasted and skinned. However I think they are worth the time and effort.  They are light and crispy on the outside with a sweet chewy center. I actually prepared the hazelnuts the day before to save some time but you could always leave them out or add a different nut that’s not so high maintenance.

I’m off to read about yeast. Enjoy your week and I hope you (and I) get to spend some time in the kitchen!

One thought on “Class and Cookies

  1. The Chefs Jacket suits you! The choc chip hazelnut meringue cookies look very inviting. No doubt they were a lovely touch to your Mom’s special day.

Leave a Reply

