Gettin’ Figgy with It

I just couldn’t resist the cutesy title, please forgive my cheesiness πŸ™‚

My second favorite dried fruit debuts this week in Cooking Light’s Fig, Applesauce and Almond Breakfast Bread. I recently re-subscribed to Cooking Light Magazine based on a photo I saw of their most recent issue. It happened to feature some delicious looking quick breads and reminded me of the handful of their quick breads I’ve baked and enjoyed before (including this fig bread). I get a lot of inspiration from their recipes and am always up for the challenge of trying to make their recipes even lighter! I’m lookingΒ  forward to receiving my first issue.

Luckily this fig bread is pretty light and healthy already so I only made a couple of alterations. They are as follows:

– 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup white whole wheat

– Ener-G Egg replacer instead of the whole egg

– omitted the almonds from the bread and the streusel

– only made half of the streusel topping


I think this bread would be great with nuts, although I feel like almonds are a little too hard and crunchy. I think pecans would be a lovely addition. Overall I think this bread came out great. I love the dried figs scattered throughout the loaf and the sweet streusel on top.

We got a little fancy this week in baking class with pies and tarts. Below is a shot of the Chocolate Ganache tarts that I made.

My co-bakers made some delicious lemon meringue, peanut butter and maple tarts (my favorite). The maple tarts were like pecan pie without the pecans, just the sugary sweet filling – yum! We had some difficulty with the meringue topping, it tasted delicious but was not firm enough and turned into a melty mess!

I’m looking forward to next week when we explore cakes and tortes. Since I’m babysitting right after class, this lucky guy will be the recipient of the goods:

Hopefully his mom is too busy to read this post this week. πŸ™‚ I’ll let you know if he approves.

One thought on “Gettin’ Figgy with It

Leave a Reply

