Crushed Cookies, not Spirits

This week’s featured dessert caused a broken mug and plate, a gash on my arm and were served in a crumbled mess. The culprit? French Macarons.  They are definitely the most high maintenance dessert I have ever attempted and can be a bit stressful.  Yet I continue to make them because they are fancy, tasty and oh so cute.

If you research French Macarons you’ll quickly learn how involved and fickle they can be. I admit I was a little intimidated after reading about the whole macaron making process. However, after coming across this post and making them a handful of times, I’ve come to learn they’re really not so bad.

However, this weekend I had a bit of bad luck. After breaking a mug and cutting my arm while prepping the cookies, I ran out of parchment paper and had to use silpat for my last tray – BIG mistake. The silpat batch turned out hollow and crispy. One tray ruined!

After biting into one of the “good ones” (for the photo shoot of course), I was relieved to discover they were a success and happily packed them up to take to my sister’s baby shower. I then managed to drop the entire container on my way out the door, resulting in a broken plate and crumbled cookies! Ugh. Thankfully, I was able to salvage enough for the party and the guests were able to enjoy these delicious french delights!

I hope I didn’t discourage anyone from attempting these bad boys. They really are worth the work. Not only are they sweet and light with a melt in your mouth quality, they are a very impressive dessert. The lucky recipients will be blown away by your baking abilities and glad they didn’t have to shell out $1.75 for a tiny cookie!

Now on to the recipe (thanks for bearing with me). I’ve made some decadent chocolate macarons but pistachio is by far my favorite flavor and the one I keep coming back to.

Pistachio Macarons:

– 55g ground almonds or almond flour

– 55g ground pistachios

– 200g powdered sugar

– 90g egg whites

– 30g superfine sugar

– green food coloring

Pistachio Buttercream:

– 1 stick butter (4oz)

– 2 cups powdered sugar

– 1/2 pack of pistachio jello instant pudding

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grind almonds, pistachios and powdered sugar in a food processor until fine (should be able to fit through a fine sieve). Beat the egg whites until thick and frothy. Gradually add superfine until mixture turns into a thick, glossy meringue. Fold the almond mixture in to the meringue until smooth and supple. Try not to over mix. (I suggest reading the post I linked above for properly mixed batter – it’s detailed!) Transfer mixture into a piping bag and pipe small rounds onto a tray lined with parchment paper. Hit the tray against the counter 3 times to dislodge air bubbles. Bake  for 15 min or until you can easily peal them off the parchment paper. Cool for 5 min and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

For the buttercream: Cream the butter, powdered sugar and pudding mix until smooth. Spread buttercream onto one macaron shell and top with another shell to create a sandwich. Indulge in your fancy dessert! Then store the rest in the fridge for 24hrs before serving. Pat yourself on the back for a job well done and tell your friends you’re a successful french pastry chef.

Updated to add: I just totally ate it on my way out of the coffee shop where I was writing this post. Fell laptop first. Man these cookies are cursed!

6 thoughts on “Crushed Cookies, not Spirits

  1. Pingback: Bridal Shower Baked Goods | kellybaked

  2. Pingback: Les Recipes de Noel | kellybaked

  3. Pingback: A Lesson in Macarons | kellybaked

  4. Pingback: Baked | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

