Cookie Roundup

Cookies are my absolute favorite thing to make. They are quick to throw together, have millions of variations and are easy to travel with. I’ve also never met a cookie I didn’t like. Here is a collection of some cookies I’ve baked recently including my all time favorite cookie recipe!

Red Velvet Cookies

I know I know, cookies from a cake box! Cheating! I made these for a co-workers b-day when I just didn’t have time to bake anything from scratch. I know she loves red velvet cake and figured these would be perfect.  They came out great. I followed the recipe to a T but next time I would definitely make a cream cheese frosting to spread in between 2 of these babies to make awesome cookie sandwiches.

Popcorn Cookies

(forgot to photograph my cookies, so this pic isn’t mine. My cookies were a bit flatter unfortunately!)

I changed the flavor profile of these cookies quite a bit due to some candy corn M&Ms I had on hand. As an avid M&M fan, I have to try every flavor they create, including some strange ones like these candy corn. They are white chocolate and taste a little like butterscotch but are a tad too sweet. I decided to bake them into something so I wouldn’t make myself sick by finishing off the bag. I’ve also been eager to try popcorn cookies and thought candy corn would compliment the popcorn well and make the perfect Halloween dessert. I left out the nuts and replaced the chocolate chips with the M&Ms. Unfortunately the cookies came out way crispier than I would like. I definitely fall in the chewy/soft cookie camp and these didn’t fit the bill.  I also had one taster complain of popcorn kernels stuck in her teeth. So although the taste was great they weren’t definite winners.

No Sugar Cookies

not my pic either, photo credit: Peas and Thank You

(ok, not really no sugar)

I wanted a healthy dessert to munch on this week so I quickly threw this recipe together one night.  I only had sweetened coconut and regular chocolate chips so my version did have a little bit of sugar, but a lot less compared to regular cookies. I replaced the butter with prune puree to make these lowfat as well. I think these came out pretty good and are nice to have on hand for a less-guilt dessert or snack. I like them best warmed up, but they were good straight from the fridge as well.

Now on to my all time favorite cookie (a Riel family recipe). Tri-chip cookies (aka known as Trifectas, Pikookies and with the addition of Reese’s PB Cups, Reese’s Bombs)! They are basically the best chocolate chip cookie with not only chocolate but white chocolate and butterscotch chips as well.  They are so delicious!

Tri-Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

– 1 1/2 cup butter, softened

– 1 1/4 cup sugar

– 1 1/4 cup brown sugar

– 1 tbls vanilla extract

– 2 eggs

– 4 cups flour

– 2 tsp baking soda

– 1 tsp salt

– 1 cup chocolate chips

– 1 cup white chocolate chips

– 1 cup butterscotch chips

– Mini Reese’s peanut butter cups (for bombs)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Cream together butter and sugars. Beat in eggs and vanilla.

3. In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking soda and salt.  Add to wet ingredients and mix.  Stir in chips.

4. For tri-chip, scoop cookies onto baking sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes. For Reese’s bombs, scoop dough into mini muffin pan and bake for 10-14 minutes. Remove cookies from the oven and immediately place one peanut butter cup in the middle of each cookie.

These cookies never disappoint and are always a crowd-pleaser. I definitely encourage you to try them as bombs, as they are such a decadent treat.

Mmmm cookies, what are your favorites?

2 thoughts on “Cookie Roundup

  1. Pingback: Christmas Treat Roundup « kellybaked

  2. Pingback: Old Favorites | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

