Gluten Free, Vegan, Low-Fat Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

I decided to dive into gluten free baking this week and knew that I could turn to my favorite baker for a recipe.  Although Joy has plenty of delicious looking gluten free recipes, I decided to adapt her Banana, Walnut & Chocolate Chip Cake. I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for a couple of months and regret not making it sooner. I made quite a few changes to the recipe to make it gluten free, vegan and low fat and thought it came out great. Joy’s version looks delicious too, especially with the mound of ice cream on top!

Enjoying my first slice.

Here is my revised recipe:

Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

Ingredients:

– 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

– 1/4 cup prune puree

– 1 cup brown sugar, packed

– 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

– 2 ripe bananas (mashed)

– 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

– 2 cups gluten free flour

– 3/4 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1 cup dark chocolate chunks
Directions:

Place a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Melt butter and prune puree in an 8-inch cast iron skillet over medium-low heat.  Stir in sugar  and vanilla extract and remove from heat.  Whisk until thoroughly combined.  Allow mixture to stand and cool for about 5 minutes.

When the sugar and butter mixture has cooled slightly it will look a bit clumpy, greasy, and broken.  That’s ok.  Add banana and cinnamon and stir to combine.

Add the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Stir carefully until all of the dry ingredients are incorporated.  Add the chocolate and fold together.

Spread mixture across the pan creating a somewhat smooth top.  Place in the oven.

Bake for 15 to 18 minutes until mixture is dry on top, but still slightly soft in the center. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 15 minutes.

I unfortunately don’t have a cast iron skillet so I just used a good ole’ fashioned mixing bowl and 8×8 baking pan. Worked like a charm.  Also, I only left out the walnuts because I didn’t have any on hand. I’m sure they would make an excellent addition to this already delicious cake.  I must say I was very pleased with the results and would never have guessed that this was a gluten-free dessert. I pretty much devoured this cake and can’t wait to make another one.

Now on to a class update. My last three baking classes have been great. My baking partner has been absent so I’ve gotten to do all the work myself, which I think is the best way to learn. I’ve made some delicious cakes and soufflés and learned how to make puff pastry from scratch!

Cake and torte day was by far my favorite as I absolutely love cake! I made a whipped cream pound cake with a citrus glaze and a marjolaine with an espresso cream filling. Yum!  The soufflé class was a pleasant surprise. I didn’t think that I was a fan of soufflés but thought they were all very tasty. My favorite was the sweet potato souffle I made.

I’ve gotten quite the arm work out the last couple of weeks by whipping cream, beating egg whites and rolling out puff pastry dough. It’s been tiring but also pretty cool to realize that I can make whipped cream and souffle without the use of my trusty kitchen aid (aka Big Red). I’m looking forward to trying out all my new recipes and techniques now that it’s baking season! I love fall and all the flavors that come with it.  I’m sure something involving pumpkin will be up on the blog soon!  Has anyone baked any tasty fall treats yet?

One thought on “Gluten Free, Vegan, Low-Fat Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

Leave a Reply

