Mmmm, Chocolate

I recently noticed the lack of chocolate recipes on the blog and decided to fix that ASAP. I absolutely LOVE chocolate. From M&Ms to brownies, hot chocolate to chocolate cake, you just can’t go wrong with that cocoay-goodness. Since it can be a bit addicting,  I wanted to share one of my favorite healthy chocolate recipes that you can feel good about snacking on all hours of the day.

Walnut Chocolate Chip Brownies

When I first came across this recipe and read through the ingredient list I was a little skeptical. Applesauce, bananas and dates?! How many fruits can be packed into a chocolate recipe and still taste good? But once these were out of the oven and in my belly, I was one satisfied chocolate-lover. (Side note: I think these brownies are much better warmed up. For some reason the heat kind of hides the applesauce flavor making them taste more like traditional brownies. Adding a scoop of ice cream doesn’t hurt either)

The recipe comes from an awesome vegan blogger and recipe developer, Angela over at Oh She Glows. I’ve made a ton of her recipes – both savory & sweet and have enjoyed them all.  I’m actually planning on making her Red Lentil and Squash Curry Stew later this week. It’s definitely a favorite of mine.

But back to the brownies (recipe can be found here). I follow the recipe every time I make these but use brown rice flour instead of teff (just because it’s hard to find). For this batch I decided to try Bob’s Red Mill GF All-Purpose Flour. I’m sure if you don’t need these to be gluten free you can use white or whole wheat flour as well. I also always add a bit more than 1/4 cup of chocolate chips, more like 1/2 cup! This is the first time I added walnuts and I’m really glad I did. They add a nice crunch to the brownies.

I hope you try these out and discover that chocolate can be nutritious and delicious. And I’m sure they can count towards your daily serving of fruit! Are there any other types of recipes you’d like to see appear on the blog? I’m thinking of posting a donut recipe soon.

2 thoughts on “Mmmm, Chocolate

Leave a Reply

