Candy Time

I love candy. I have a favorite kind for almost every holiday and then the usuals that are available year round (i.e M&Ms). Candy corn is my favorite Halloween candy but I also love the fun-sized versions of kit-kats, twix, butterfingers, snickers and many more that begin to appear on grocery store shelves this time of year. For some reason I have no problem chowing down mini versions of candy that I would never eat a full size of.

Halloween is certainly a hard time to keep up my healthy eating habits. Bite sized candy is everywhere and I just feel less guilty eating small servings of my favorite treats. (Of course there is nothing wrong with indulging, it just adds up to a lot by the end of the day – for me at least!) So needless to say I was very excited when a fellow blogger (Angela at Oh She Glows) created healthier versions of her favorite Halloween candy.

The first revised recipe – Knock-off Rolos – seemed to be made for me. They are vegan and feature one of my favorite things to snack on – dates and peanut butter. This recipe takes that combination to a whole new level by dipping it in chocolate. Yum! Since it’s a short recipe I typed it out for you:

Homemade Rolos

(from Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:

– 200 grams pitted soft Medjool dates (about 11 large)

– 1/2 tbsp peanut butter

– pinch of fine grain sea salt

– 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

-1 tsp coconut oil

Directions:

– Process dates with nut/seed butter until a sticky paste forms.

– Chill date mixture in freezer for 10 minutes, then shape into about 18 small balls.

– Freeze balls again for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, melt chocolate with coconut oil.

– Dunk each chilled ball into chocolate. Tap off excess.

– Place bites back into the freezer for at least 20 minutes to set. Store them in the freezer.

The rolos taste best straight from the freezer as they are a bit firmer, more like a cross between a milk dud and a rolo. They were a breeze to whip up and are absolutely delicious. It’s nice to have a bite-sized healthy treat to grab when I’m in the mood for some candy. If you’re not into rolos, maybe you’d prefer vegan Twix Bars or Kit-Kats. I think Twix are next on my list.

I hope you all have a fun, safe and chocolate-filled Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Candy Time

  1. We just dusted off the Trick-or-Treat candy and I was planning on eating healthier now, but I think I’ll have to make these first!

    • These are yummy, and perfect snacks. Sweet enough and chocolatey enough to satisfy my sweet tooth with just one (or 3). Think they’ll make a great base for all sorts of bite size variations, such as granola bites, rolled in coconut or seeds. Also, SO Easy, able to make while wearing the baby and entertaining the two year old!

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Coconut Pecan Truffles | kellybaked

  3. Pingback: Kelly-Approved Treats | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

