Bakery Reviews

Hello, all. I added a new page and a new segment to the blog – Bakery Reviews! I’ll be dishing on my favorite bakeries as well as visiting some new ones in hopes of discovering some great shops to satisfy that sweet tooth. If you have any suggestions or would like to join me on a bakery visit let me know! I’d love a fellow sampler.

First up for review is an All-American local favorite followed by a cute Oregon bakery serving up some mini desserts!

Susie Cakes

2043 Westcliff Dr #104
Newport Beach, CA 92660

I absolutely love the look of Susie Cakes. It retro and old-fashioned with scrumptious looking desserts, cakes with beautiful pastel frostings, and a colorful row of sprinkles in the window. It’s the type of place I just want to hang out in (and order one of everything in the case). They have all sorts of desserts, from layered cakes and whoopie pies to animal cookies and 7-layer bars. I’ve only tried their cupcakes but plan on going back for a slice of their gorgeous turquoise funfetti cake and some cookies and bars. There are so many tempting choices among all of their home-style treats.

My first trip to Susie Cakes was to pick up some cupcakes for my Aunt’s cupcake-themed b-day party. They have plenty of delicious flavors to choose from including vanilla, red velvet, coconut, peanut butter and chocolate mint. They also have one or two rotating flavors of the month which is what I usually go for. I got the champagne flavor and classic vanilla for the party and both were a huge hit. But since I didn’t get to taste either of them, I decided to go back to try one for myself. On my second visit, I was delighted to see snickerdoodle as the flavor of the month. It was soooo good. I’m a huge fan of cinnamon sugar as well as snickerdoodles and this cupcake did not disappoint. It was light and fluffy with a deliciously sweet cinnamon buttercream.

My only complaint was the amount of frosting. Seems to be a typical issue with cupcake shops these days – a mound of frosting that would put anyone in a sugar coma. Susie Cakes’ cupcakes don’t look like offenders but they do sneak some frosting into the middle (hence the name “Frosting-Filled”). However, I still think they are mighty tasty and I’m so happy to have a Susie Cakes close to home. They have a total of 8 locations including San Francisco and Manhattan Beach. If you’re ever near one I encourage you to stop in for something sweet.

Two Tarts Bakery

2309 NW Kearney Street
Portland, OR 97210

One of my favorite things about my trip to Portland, OR this past summer was discovering the two tarts bakery. I first spotted them at the Portland State University Farmers Market and just had to buy a couple of their bite-sized treats. They were so good that I was delighted to stumble upon their store front the very next day. My favorite thing about Two Tarts is the size of their desserts, they’re tini tiny! Which makes them adorable as well as easy to eat. I love that I can eat the whole dessert (or a few) without getting too full and that I can easily try a variety. They seem to be a great price too – 80 cents a treat just seems like a deal (especially for french macarons).

Lil Mama in the front

Between my mom and I, we tried the Fleur de Sel Chocolate Chip Cookie, Raspberry Macaron, Lil Mama, Carrot Whoopie Pie and an Earl Grey Shortbread Cookie. I liked the Lil Mama and macaron the best but everything was pretty tasty. The Two Tarts bakery shop and stand at the farmers market were a major inspiration for me and motivated me to start this blog. I love the idea of small and inexpensive desserts and serving mostly cookie-type desserts. The tarts (as the owners call themselves) started out at the farmers market and were so successful they opened up a shop. Super cool! So if you’re ever in Portland, be sure to check them out. I suggest their stand at the farmers market since the market is awesome in itself.

One thought on “Bakery Reviews

  1. Love this new segment. I know my little guy and I would love to join you on a bakery trip. And I’ll keep you posted, my neighbor down the street is opening a bakery in Laguna in February. There are a few bakeries in town I haven’t tried, we should.

Leave a Reply

