NYC Bakery Reviews

Time for some NYC Bakery reviews. I took a trip to New York a couple of years ago and was excited to check out some of their famous bakeries. Luckily I also did a lot of walking so I had no problem indulging in some delightful cupcakes.

Magnolia Bakery

1240 Sixth Ave
Rockefeller Plaza, New York, NY 10020

I don’t think a trip to New York is complete without a visit to Magnolia Bakery. It’s known for it’s appearance on Sex and the City and is credited with starting the cupcake craze. I didn’t even know they sold more than cupcakes until I found the recipe for these babies. I guess I had a one track mind when I stopped in for a cupcake.

They have 5 shops in New York as well as locations in LA, Chicago and even Dubai. I opted for the one that was right by my hotel in Rockefeller Center. It’s a small shop offering plenty of goodies including cupcakes, cake, pies, cookies and bars. I only remember seeing their beautifully decorated cakes and their cute cupcakes when I was there, but I’m sure they had their other treats on hand as well.

Their cupcake menu includes the classic flavors like vanilla, chocolate and red velvet as well as some more interesting flavors such as snickerdoodle, caramel, hummingbird, devil’s food and coconut. I decided on a s’mores cupcake for myself and a vanilla one for the lucky person picking me up from the airport. πŸ™‚ The s’more’s cupcake is a honey graham cake with a chocolate center and a meringue icing. While the vanilla is a rich, buttery old fashioned cake with a light crumb and pink buttercream.Β  I really enjoyed the smore’s cupcake. The cake wasn’t too sweet and the layer of chocolate was a nice addition to the light meringue frosting. I heard the vanilla cupcake was dlicious as well. I thought the cupcakes were a good size and had a good amount of frosting (i.e. not too much).

I would love to go back to try some more cupcakes, especially the snickerdoodle, carrot and caramel and maybe take a peek at the other treats they have to offer. I think I’ll try the one in LA since it’s not as far of a drive πŸ™‚

Butter Lane Cupcakes

123 East Seventh Street
New York, NY 10009

The first bakery I went to in NY was Butter Lane Cupcakes and I must admit it was my favorite.Β  It is a tiny shop in Manhattan, that serves just one thing: cupcakes (and darn good ones at that)! Butter Lane does things a little differently with their menu. They have plenty of their own tasty cake/frosting combinations but they also let you create you’re own. You choose the type of cake you want (chocolate, vanilla or banana) and then choose a frosting to top it off with. They offer a wide range of both French and American buttercream including flavors such as cream cheese, peanut butter, honey cinnamon, pistachio, maple pecan, strawberry and of course chocolate and vanilla.

Although some of their flavor combinations sounded awesome, (peanut butter on banana, honey cinnamon on vanilla and coconut on chocolate) I decided to create my own. I ordered vanilla cake with salted caramel and was surprised to see it was topped with popcorn. My travel companion ordered a chocolate cupcake with chocolate bourbon frosting which also had some fancy topping (that I can’t remember unfortunately). The fun and unique toppings were a nice surprise and not something I was expecting with customizable cupcakes. Both cupcakes were delicious and thoroughly enjoyed. They were the perfect size (smallish) with not too much frosting.

I loved being able to customize my cupcake but do wish that they offered more base flavors. I was surprised to see banana as one of the cake flavors, as it seems a bit strange and not very popular. I think a spice cake, red velvet and maybe a strawberry (strawberry with coconut or peanut butter frosting? – yum) would be good cakes to add.

I wish I got some pictures of these cupcakes or that I could better describe them because we absolutely loved them and I feel like I’m not doing them justice with this review. If you’re ever in New York, I suggest you stop in to Butter Lane for a custom cupcake. It may be a tiny little shop but it certainly delivers big on flavor and creativity. What flavor combo would you get?

One thought on “NYC Bakery Reviews

Leave a Reply

