My Favorite Holiday Breakfast

Since it’s the Holiday Season, I thought I’d post my favorite holiday breakfast item. French Puffs! I only refer to these as a Holiday Breakfast because that’s when my mom would make them, usually Christmas and Valentine’s Day. They are definitely a family favorite and think they will soon be yours as well.

IMG_1173[1]

I was surprised and delighted when I saw these were on the agenda for my very first day of Baking Class. I knew I’d gotten into something good. However, their recipe said to just dip the tops of the muffins in butter and cinnamon sugar. Not my family, we dip the whole darn thing in there, which I think is much better.

These muffins are definitely not a health food, but for the holidays it’s nice to have a special treat. Calories don’t count between Thanksgiving and Christmas right?Β  I have actually made these a bit healthier and vegan by replacing the butter in the batter with applesauce, and using almond milk, Ener-G egg replacer and earth balance. I also always try to use whole wheat pastry flour. I think both versions are equally delicious and neither will disappoint! So whether you decide to indulge or go the healthy route, enjoy these for a special breakfast.

French Puffs

IMG_1259[1]

Ingredients

– 1.5 cups flour

– 1/2 cup sugar

– 1.5 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/4 tsp nutmeg

– 1 egg

– 1/2 cup milk

– 1/3 cup butter

For the topping:

– 1/3 cup butter, melted

– 1/3 cup sugar

– 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

1. Heat oven to 350ΒΊF. Grease or line 15 muffin cups.

2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and nutmeg.

3. In a separate bowl, combine egg, milk and butter. Combine with dry ingredients.

4. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups and bake for 15 to 20 minutes.

5. Combine 1/3 cup sugar and the cinnamon. Dip hot muffins in melted butter, then roll in sugar-cinnamon mixture. Serve hot.

IMG_1260[1]

One thought on “My Favorite Holiday Breakfast

Leave a Reply

