Christmas Cookie Time!

IMG_1301

I baked my first batch of Christmas Cookies this weekend. Reading blogs and browsing foodgawker, has made me so excited to start my holiday baking. Each day my list of cookies to bake before the big day gets longer and longer.

I was afraid it was a little too early to start since I want to gift most of my cookies, but I just couldn’t wait any longer. Also, I had the genius idea to freeze half of the dough to bake closer to Christmas to ensure maximum freshness. So if you’re related to me (and I think most of my readers are) try to forget these cookies as they might appear in your stocking or under the tree…

The first item crossed off my list are these delightful Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies. I’m in need of a good go-to oatmeal cookie recipe and figured adding cranberries would make them chrsitmasy enough. I decided to start my search with good ol’ Mr. Quaker. I used the recipe on the back of the Quaker Oats can, adding white chocolate chips and dried cranberries and substituting part of the butter with prune puree.

Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies

IMG_1302

Ingredients:
– 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
– 1/4 cup prune puree
– 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar
– 2 eggs
– 1 teaspoon vanilla
– 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1 teaspoon baking soda
– 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 3 cups old fashioned oats
– 1 cup dried cranberries
– 1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. In large bowl, beat butter, prune puree and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat well.
3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add to butter and sugar mixture and mix well. Mix in oats, cranberries and white chocolate chips.
4. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto cookie sheets and bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely and store in an airtight container.

IMG_1307

I must admit these cookies didn’t come out as perfect as I was hoping. They are a bit flatter than I would like. They sure are tasty though. Perhaps some extra flour will make these cookies the thicker consistency that I’m looking for. I’m also curious to see how the frozen  dough cookies come out. I’ll keep you posted on that.

What are your favorite Christmas Cookies? Do you have a awesome Oatmeal Cookie recipe to share?

One thought on “Christmas Cookie Time!

Leave a Reply

