Chocolate Coconut Pecan Truffles

IMG_1419

Most nights (aka every night) I crave something sweet after dinner.  And in spite of all the baking I do, I don’t always have dessert on hand.  I usually just turn to my jar of chocolate chips to satisfy my craving but was in the mood for something a bit more substantial recently. So I whipped up these quick and healthy chocolate covered date truffles with a few ingredients I had on hand.

IMG_1438

I’ve made date balls before as well as homemade rolos that are pretty similar to these trufles, so I wasn’t expecting to be blown away. But I couldn’t keep my hands off of them.  They were absolutely delicious. You all know that I love dates and chocolate, but I think the coconut oil I added to the chocolate coating really took these to the next level.  The oil is totally optional but adds more coconut flavor and helps thin out the chocolate for easier coating.  As a fan of coconut, I was very pleased with the outcome. I’ll definitely be implementing this technique the next time I make homemade rolos and already incorporated it in an upcoming recipe for homemade almond joys!

However, I know there are coconut-haters out there so feel free to leave out the oil and shredded coconut if you wish. I do suggest adding some type of oil or parafin wax to the chocolate unless you would like thickly coated date balls (and there ain’t nothin’ wrong with that!).

Chocolate Covered Coconut Pecan Date Truffles

IMG_1421

Ingredients:

– 1 cup pitted medjool dates

– ½ cup unsweetened shredded coconut

– ½ cup pecans

– ½ tsp vanilla

– Pinch of salt

For the chocolate coating:

– 1/3 cup chocolate chips

– ½ tsp coconut oil (optional)

Directions:

  1. Combine dates, coconut, pecans, vanilla and salt in a food processor and process until a smooth ball is formed.
  2. Roll about one tablespoon of the “dough” into balls. Place the balls in the freezer for 30 mins.
  3. Combine chocolate and coconut oil and melt in the microwave or double broiler until smooth.
  4. Line a baking sheet or plate with parchment paper. Remove the date balls from the freezer. Place a date ball on a fork and dip into the melted chocolate to cover completely. Lift fork and scrape on the side of the bowl to release extra chocolate.
  5. Place on parchment paper and place in the freezer to set. Store in an airtight container in the fridge or freezer and enjoy!

Besides being quick and easy to make, these treats are awesome because they are very easy to customize.  You can change them up based on taste preference or depending on what ingredients you have in the house. Leave out the coconut, use a different nut, add peanut butter, use different dried fruit, cover in white chocolate or leave completely naked! Whatever you decide, you’re sure to come up with a tasty dessert to enjoy anytime.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Pecan Truffles

  1. Pingback: Kelly-Approved Treats | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

