Fluffy Snickerdoodles

IMG_1581

In my opinion, my Aunt Kathleen is the best cookie maker around.  She makes delicious chocolate-loaded Tri-Chip cookies, sweet Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies and perfectly soft  Snickerdoodles.  I, of course, have all her recipes and make them often (mostly the tri-chip). However, my Snickerdoodles never come out quite as good as hers.  They are not as soft as I’d like and often come out flat and crispy.  Instead of  tinkering with her recipe or sneaking into her house to see if she has some secret ingredient or method that she keeps to herself, I decided to seek out a completely different recipe.

IMG_1582

I knew I found the perfect recipe to try when I read the name – Fat Fluffy Snickerdoodles from How Sweet It Is. The recipe is slightly different from my Aunt’s, with extra cinnamon in the dough and a small amount of milk.  It also uses the method of refrigerating the dough to make sure they don’t flatten out.

Fat Fluffy Snickerdoodles

copied from How Sweet It Is

– 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature

– 1 cup sugar

– 1 egg

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

– 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

– 2 tablespoons milk

– 1/4 cup sugar + 1 tablespoon cinnamon for dipping

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. Cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until smooth. Add egg and vanilla, mixing well until combine, about 2 minutes.

3. Stir in flour, baking powder, salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix until dough comes together. If dough is still crumbly, add milk 1 tablespoon at a time until it comes together. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

4. In a bowl combine remaining sugar and cinnamon. Remove dough from fridge and roll into big 1 1/2 inch balls. Dip in cinnamon sugar mixture and place on baking sheet. Lightly press down on dough to flatten it.

5. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.

IMG_1518

These cookies definitely lived up to their name.  They were fat, fluffy and delicious.  I brought some down to San Diego to share with my cousins (the daughters of the best cookie maker) and they approved! I was definitely a fan of the extra cinnamon in the dough and was surprised how soft they were days after I made them. While my Aunt’s are still the best, I’m glad I have a recipe that come out pretty darn tasty as well.

2 thoughts on “Fluffy Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Les Recipes de Noel | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

