Cutout Sugar Cookies

IMG_1565

I’ve never been a huge fan of cutout sugar cookies, especially the frosted variety.  In my opinion they just don’t taste that great and don’t compare to a warm, soft, gooey, chocolate chip cookie. They also take a lot of work.  I’m more interested in baking for taste rather than looks. Part of this could be due to the fact that I’m just not that good at decorating.

So when I received an owl cookie cutter for my birthday, I didn’t exactly rush to the kitchen to make some adorable owl cookies. (Even though I have a thing for owls). However, I happened to receive the cookie cutter from a cute boy who asked on a couple of occasions if I’d made the darn owl cookies yet. After the second or third time he asked, I finally got to it. I googled owl cookies for decorating tips, searched allrecipes.com for an awesome sugar cookie recipe and headed to the kitchen adorned in my cute owl apron.

IMG_1564Unfortunately things didn’t go very smoothly. I didn’t realize how many different color frostings I’d have to make, how steady of a hand I’d need for decorating and didn’t know what to use for the eyes.  After my first couple of attempts I was frustrated and ready throw in the towel. But as I mentioned earlier, CUTE BOY…

So after a trip to Target for black frosting and smaller frosting tips, I was back at it.  Turns out I just needed the right tools.  The frosting tips made this venture mush easier and less frustrating. I was relieved that they turned out pretty cute and they certainly tasted awesome!

I used this sugar cookie recipe but halved it and made a couple of the modifications mentioned in the comments.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

IMG_1570

Ingredients:

– 3/4 cups butter, softened

– 1 1/2 cups white sugar

– 2 eggs

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

– 1 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).

2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on parchment lined cookie sheets.

3.  Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

IMG_1574I rolled the dough out thicker than normal so that they’d be softer than the average sugar cookie. For the frosting, I used a simple mixture of 3 cups powdered sugar and 2-3 Tablespoons of milk.  For the “male” owls, I used some leftover salted caramel frosting which, according to my mom, made them taste like maple bar donuts. I used Necco wafers and the black decorating frosting from Target for the eyes. But, next time I’ll just buy the candy eyes I saw at Michael’s this week 🙂

After all this work, I definitely have more respect for bakers who’s desserts are so cute and perfect looking.  It certainly takes a lot of time, patience and skill. And while I was happy with how they came out, I won’t be making these cookies again any time soon (especially since I didn’t even get another date out of it).  However, I am glad to know that I can make a tasty, semi-cute owl sugar cookie and won’t be afraid to tackle more desserts that rely on decorating skills in the future.

2 thoughts on “Cutout Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: Lemon Meringue Cookie Cups | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

