Chocolate Mini Cakes for the Wedding of the Decade

IMG_1953

I was lucky enough to not only be a part of my cousin Erin’s bridal party, but I also had the opportunity to bake some of the mini cakes for the reception.  For their dessert, the bride and groom decided on a traditional 3-tiered wedding cake as well as 240 mini cakes. 60 of each of the following flavors: funfetti, zucchini cake with cream cheese frosting, chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and a family favorite – banana cream pie.  Per the groom’s request, I was assigned chocolate – a favorite flavor of his as well as mine.

As you can see from the above picture, the cakes were baked in 8oz mason jars which actually made decorating and transporting them pretty easy.  It was nice not having to worry about removing them from a cake pan and hoping they didn’t completely crumble and fall apart.

IMG_1964Since I was making so many, I decided to break the baking up into two days with an additional day for frosting and decorating. I of course did a couple of practice runs to figure out how much batter to fill the jars with as well as to see how long they would take to bake.  It was definitely a fun experience “mass producing” the mini cakes as I got a small taste of what it would be like to bake for a living.  I enjoyed figuring out the logistics of making a larger number of desserts and was happy to spend all that time in my kitchen (except for all the dish washing!).

However, just as I assume real bakeries experience, not everything ran smoothly. My last batch of cakes didn’t rise nearly as much as my first 3 batches so I had to scrap some and start over (luckily I had plenty of batter).  And even though the frosting I made was supposed to cover 90 cupcakes, I realized halfway through frosting that I would have to make another 1 and 1/2 batches. Nothing too catastrophic luckily 🙂

IMG_1960

I ended up making 4 batches of Ever-So-Moist Chocolate Cake and 4 and 1/2 batches of Fluffy Chocolate Frosting from Chocolate from the Cake Mix Dr. I was pleased with the final result and was happy to pack ’em up and drop ’em off right before starting the weekend of wedding festivities.

The entire weekend was a blast.  It was a DIY wedding done right and one of the best receptions I’ve ever been to – my aunt and cousin did an amazing job with the planning and decor. I was so busy dancing, photoboothing and socializing I didn’t have a chance to snap a pic of the dessert table or to even try the finished product.  But based on the fact that there were no leftover chocolate cakes and the pic of my cousin Michael below, I’d say they were a hit!

michaelcake

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Mini Cakes for the Wedding of the Decade

Leave a Reply

