Vegan Ice “Cream”

sprinkles

Summer is not always the best time to turn on the oven and spend the afternoon baking in a hot kitchen. Especially in my little apartment, where I feel like the oven heats up the entire place.  And while I definitely won’t be taking the summer off from baking, I thought I’d try out some no bake recipes.  So first up is one of my favorite desserts, ice cream!

icecream2

Since I’m often flirting with veganism and am always interested in lighter dessert recipes, I wanted to make a healthy, low-fat, non dairy ice cream I could whip up quickly.  I’ve come across plenty of recipes for vegan ice cream made with coconut milk, but was never too enthused about them since they are still high in fat and coconut is a pretty strong flavor that not everybody loves. I’ve successfully made the famous one ingredient vegan ice cream also known as banana soft serve – seen here, but I wanted something that wasn’t so banana-y.  (Although, it is delightful and I definitely recommend it!).

So I was excited when I came across this recipe from A Simple Raw Life via Pinterest.  It is similar to the banana soft serve but with some additional ingredients that I thought would hide the banana flavor.  I followed the recipe except for swapping maple syrup for the honey and I used regular cocoa powder instead of raw cacao, since that’s what I had on hand.

I also made a vanilla date variation of this ice cream:

Vanilla Date Ice Cream

Ingredients:

– 2 frozen bananas
– 1 cup almond milk
– 1/2 tsp vanilla
– 3 medjool dates

Directions:

Blend all of the ingredients together in a high speed blender.  Pour the mixture into flat container and chill in the freezer for about 2 hours. If frozen longer make sure to remove from freezer to thaw for a couple minutes before serving.  Top with sprinkles (or your favorite toppings) and enjoy!

icecream

I liked the chocolate flavor better than my vanilla/date concotion. The flavor was pretty good and definitely not too banana-y, but the texture was a bit icy.  Not nearly as creamy as I would like.  Unfortunately, I have often found it difficult to make low-fat ice cream that is nice and creamy.  I actually preferred the texture of the ice cream before freezing, but it was more like a smoothie at that point.  While I certainly enjoyed the ice cream, I will be looking for another recipe.  I’m thinking of trying out a coconut milk base with light coconut milk, since I would really like a creamier version.

One thought on “Vegan Ice “Cream”

  1. Pingback: Delicious Double Chocolate “Ice Cream” | kellybaked

Leave a Reply

