Tuxedo Oatmeal Chip Cookies

IMG_2366

I have a bad habit of snacking on chocolate chips.  I always seem to have a bag of one flavor or another open and ready to eat.  In order to stop this unnecessary consumption of chocolate, I try to use them up in baked goods.  Although I’ll admit this doesn’t always happen as I’ve managed to eat an entire bag without making a single thing.

IMG_2359

Recently I found myself with opened bags of both white chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips.  I’ve baked a lot of regular chocolate chip cookies lately so was in the mood for something a little different. At first I was thinking oatmeal raisin cookies with white chocolate chips would be tasty.  (But I don’t exactly have a raisin-snacking problem.)  So instead, these Tuxedo Oatmeal Chip Cookies were born. They are basically oatmeal raisin cookies minus the raisins and plus white chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips.  I actually loaded them with chips (since I was trying to use up the bags), adding 1 and a half cup of each, but I think anywhere from 1 cup to 1 1/2 will do just fine.

Tuxedo Oatmeal Chip Cookies

IMG_2357

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 1/3 cups light brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon table salt
3 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips

Directions:
1. In a mixing bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar, eggs and vanilla.
2. In a separate bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt together and then combine with butter mixture.
3. Stir in the oats and chips.
4. Chill dough in the fridge for at least 30 minutes and up to 24 hrs.
5. When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
6. Scoop the dough onto prepared baking sheets making sure they are about 2 inches apart.
7. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges are brown but the middle is still a bit under cooked.
8. Cool the cookies on the baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.

The cookies are gone and so are those 2 bags of chocolate chips.  Yet, I somehow have another bag of white chocolate chips that is getting smaller by the minute…

What to make next?

Leave a Reply

