Pumpkin Breads!

We are knee deep in pumpkin season and I have been busy baking up all kinds of pumpkin goodies.  So far I’ve made pumpkin chili, dinner rolls, lattes, oat bars, 2 kinds of cookies and lots of pumpkin bread. I’m surprised I haven’t turned orange! I think out of everything pumpkin I’ve consumed this past month, pumpkin bread has been my favorite.  It’s just so traditional and delicious.  I’ve made 3 different recipes so far (2 vegan and 1 paleo) and think I have settled on a favorite.  Here are the recipes:

Vegan Pumpkin Bread

by Joy the Baker

IMG_2536

Ingredients:
2 cups ap flour
1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
2 cups light brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp cloves
1 15-ounce can pumpkin puree
1 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup water

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 and place a rack in the center of the oven.  Grease two loaf pans and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together flours, sugars, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin puree, oil, maple syrup and water.
4. Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix together, scraping the bottom of the bowl as you stir.
5. Divide the batter between the pans and bake for 1 hour or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.  Remove from the oven and let it cool for 20 minutes before placing on a rack to cool completely.

This is my favorite of the 3 recipes I made and was definitely well received by the many folks that got to try it.  The recipe makes 2 loaves which I’ve been splitting into 1 9×5 loaf and 2 mini loaves for sharing purposes. I’ve made the recipe twice and have been stashing the extra mini loaves in my freezer.  It’s been great having them on hand for get-togethers or to bring on a visit to my adorable nephews. The recipe is a little different in her cookbook as it is on her site and I’ve been actually been following the recipe exactly (minus the walnuts).  I would like to try replacing some of the oil with either more pumpkin puree or applesauce to make it a little lighter, however.

Banumpkin Bread

by neverhomemaker

Copy of Cookbook 018

Ingredients:
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3 large, extremely ripe bananas
2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon coarse Kosher salt
1/4 cup almond plus 1 teaspoon beer (or lemon juice)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

Directions:
1.    Grease a loaf pan and set aside.
2.    In a large bowl, mash the bananas until they are gooey and have as little chunks as possible.
3.    Whisk in the pumpkin puree, sugar, maple syrup, and vanilla. Add almond milk and beer.
4.    In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and baking soda. Add to the wet and mix with a spatula until just combined.
5.    Stir in the coconut flakes.
6.    Pour into the loaf pan, cover with plastic wrap and let it rest in the refrigerator for half an hour.
7.    Preheat your oven to 350 and place a rack in the center of the oven.
8.    Bake for 1 hour until your loaf is lightly browned and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
9.    Cool in the pan for 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

This bread is more of a hybrid of banana and pumpkin bread than a pure pumpkin bread, but it’s definitely one of my most made breads (and the origin of one of my nicknames).  I make this bread anytime I’m in the mood for banana bread because I like the use of whole wheat flour and the low fat content.  I’ve tried reducing the sugar before too but didn’t like the outcome quite as much as the original  I now use coconut palm sugar for at least part or all of the white sugar to make things a tad healthier.

Paleo Pumpkin Streusel Bread

by runningtothekitchen

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Ingredients:
1 cup almond flour
¼ cup coconut flour
¼ cup ground pepitas (to make a flour)
½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp pumpkin pie spice
¼ tsp kosher salt
1 cup pumpkin puree
¼ cup honey
¼ cup melted coconut oil
4 eggs

Streusel Topping:

½ cup chopped walnuts
1 tbsp melted coconut oil
1 tbsp honey
½ tsp cinnamon
1 /8 tsp nutmeg
2 tbsps unsweetened coconut flakes

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees and grease a loaf pan.
2. In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients and pour into dry ingredients. Mix well.
4. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and smooth the top.
5. In a small bowl, combine all the streusel ingredients and sprinkle evenly over the top of the batter.
6. Bake for 55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
7. Remove from oven and cool in the pan for 10 minutes before inverting onto a wire rack to cool completely.

I made this paleo pumpkin bread for a breast cancer event at my crossfit gym. It was extremely moist due to the pumpkin and coconut oil. I thought it came out pretty good but it wasn’t very sweet or pumpkiny.  I would definitely add more honey and more pumpkin pie spice next time around.  The streusel topping is definitely necessary and adds a nice, sweet crunch.

I hope you’ve all been baking and enjoying many pumpkin goodies as well. There’s less than a month before christmasy flavors like gingerbread, eggnog and peppermint take over, so enjoy the fall flavors while you can. 🙂 I must admit I’ve already been thinking of the xmas cookies and treats I’ll be baking up this year and am very much looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

