Baked

I may not have been blogging as much as I used to but I am certainly still baking plenty.  Here’s a few desserts I’ve baked up recently:

Mini No Bake Cheesecakes

adapted from Shutterbean

Almond with fresh Strawberries

IMG_3410

I’ve had this recipe for Shutterbean’s Almond Ginger Cheesecakes on my “to-make” list for quite some time.  I think it was the ginger snap cookie crust that got me as I love all things ginger! So when I was searching for dessert to bring to Easter dinner I was happy to finally try these out. However, I ended up making the crust with graham cracker crumbs (which Tracy also has a recipe for) and topping them with fresh strawberries since I knew my family would appreciate a more traditional cheesecake flavor.

Dulce De Leche

IMG_3411

I also made a dulce de leche version by adding 1/4 cup of caramel sauce to the cream cheese mixture. The filling was light and not too rich (as many cheesecakes can be) thanks to the addition of fresh whipped cream. I will definitely be making them again, most likely with the original ginger snap crust.

Brown Butter White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

from Joy the Baker

IMG_3439

Some of my friends at crossfit endured a 6 week paleo challenge where they had to give up all things sugar! (among many other things) When the challenge was over, one participant requested some white chocolate macadamia nut cookies and I was more than happy to bring a batch into the box. I turned to my trusty blogger/author/baker guru, Joy and made these delicious babies.  I got a little nervous once I stirred in the white chocolate chips as it seemed like there were way too many in the dough! Fortunately, it didn’t seem that way in the final product. One taster even said they were Mrs. Fields quality. I’ll take it!

Lemon “Brownies”

lemonbrownies

Even though I’m not a huge lemon lover, I was actually really excited to try these since they looked so good. Unfortunately I wasn’t blown away with the results. They were a little too tart and lemony for my liking.

Re-bakes:

Oreo Truffles

IMG_3356

Peanut Butter Cookies with Reese’s Pieces

IMG_3362

These recipes have appeared on the blog before but are so good I re-made them for some recent special occasions.  I made the Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter cookies for my Dad’s b-day and the Oreo truffles to win over my new co-workers!  I’ve made the Oreo truffles too many times to count and they are always well received. Also, they happen to be one of the easiest desserts to whip up and people are always very impressed.  Definitely a great recipe to try and make (over and over again).  I still want to try some different variations with different cookies and coatings, but these are so good I have yet to stray from the original recipe!

Amazingly Delicious Pistachio Macarons!!

IMG_3500

I made another batch of pistachio macarons for a party my Aunt held this past weekend. And I am so happy to report they came out great (FINALLY!) – they looked good and tasted good! I think I’m finally getting into the groove with these delicate cookies.  Making only half of a batch definitely helped since it took less time and was less stressful. I’ll probably be halving the recipe from now on since it still makes plenty of macarons (35  to be exact!).

 

Leave a Reply

