Old Favorites

I realized I haven’t posted in a while and it’s not due to a lack of baking (as you can see from my instagram account). It’s mostly due to the fact that I’ve just been baking some old favorites that I’ve posted on the blog before.

For example, I recently whipped up a batch of my all-time favorite tri-chip cookies to I share with family, friends and co-workers. I also re-made a fan favorite – my apple pie cookies.  I re-fashioned them into apple pie stars to make them more patriotic for the 4th of July.

applepiecookies

For my own enjoyment I’ve been making (and re-making and re-making) uber-healthy black bean brownies – different then the ones I’ve made before. They don’t have any sugar or oil and are mostly made of black beans, dates and cocoa powder.  I think they’re a good treat but I have yet to share them for fear of ruining my baking reputation…

One new recipe I recently made were these Homemade Oreo Cookies from Smitten Kitchen. They were pretty tasty, easy to assemble and thoroughly enjoyed by my dad on Father’s Day. Luckily, I had King Arthur’s double dutch dark cocoa powder on hand which help make these taste close to the real deal.

oreos

I used a couple of the homemade oreos to make some Cookies n’ Cream Peanut Butter to gift my Dad as well.  Simply combine 1 cup homemade peanut butter, with 1/2 cup melted white chocolate chips and 5 crushed homemade oreos. Warning, this stuff is dangerously delicious!

cookiepb

Another new (and quick!) recipe I’ve been enjoying is homemade vegan dark chocolate. I got the idea from Oh She Glow’s instagram. To make, mix 1/4 cup melted coconut oil, 1/4 cup cocoa powder, 2 tbsp maple syrup, a dash of vanilla extract, 1 pinch of salt and a tablespoon or 2 of cocoa nibs. Pour into a candy mold (or a parchment lined loaf pan) and freeze until set.  Store in the freezer as this begins to melt at room temperature. I decided to add the cocoa nibs for crunch, you can leave them out or add in other mix-ins like nuts.

I hope to be back in the kitchen soon, finally trying out some homemade vegan ice cream! I’ll keep you posted on the results.

One thought on “Old Favorites

Leave a Reply

